Formula E

Evans Secures Thrilling Last-Lap Victory in Shanghai E-Prix Round 11

Jaguar TCS Racing’s Mitch Evans executed a stunning final lap manoeuvre to clinch victory in the Shanghai E-Prix Round 11, overtaking Porsche’s Pascal Wehrlein in a thrilling finish.

Starting from third on the grid, Evans made his way to the front early in the race, overtaking polesitter Jean-Eric Vergne (DS PENSKE) and Nissan’s Oliver Rowland, as well as the Porsche duo of Pascal Wehrlein and Antonio Felix da Costa, who had been working together to manage their energy levels while retaining track position.

The top six drivers battled fiercely, aiming to secure a spot at the front and avoid the chaotic mid-pack. By Lap 16, the Porsches, with Wehrlein leading da Costa, reclaimed the lead from Evans. Despite this, the Jaguar driver stayed close behind, with the pack running nose-to-tail.

On Lap 19, Evans, having conserved an extra percent of energy, passed da Costa in Sector 1. Nick Cassidy, in the sister Jaguar TCS Racing car and the current standings leader, had a two percent energy advantage over the leaders. By Lap 23, Cassidy had moved up to fourth, with a three percent energy advantage over the leading trio of Wehrlein, Evans, and da Costa.

Reigning champion Jake Dennis (Andretti) briefly joined the lead group before the Jaguars’ energy advantage became apparent. Cassidy overtook da Costa for third as the race neared its conclusion.

Wehrlein, running two percent lower on energy compared to the Jaguars, employed every defensive tactic to keep them at bay. The decisive move came on the final lap when Evans, after a failed attempt at the hairpin, swept around the outside of Wehrlein to take the lead and held on to the finish. Wehrlein managed to fend off Cassidy’s last-minute challenge for second, with Cassidy settling for third after a slight collision and having to defend against a late surge from Oliver Rowland.

Da Costa finished fifth, followed by Dennis in sixth, and Vergne in seventh after starting from pole. Nyck de Vries scored his first points for Mahindra, finishing eighth. Maserati MSG Racing’s Maximilian Guenther and Envision Racing’s Sebastien Buemi completed the top ten, although a 10-second penalty for Guenther later promoted DS PENSKE’s Stoffel Vandoorne into the points.

The result sees Cassidy leading the Drivers’ standings with 155 points, ahead of Wehrlein on 142, and Rowland third with 130 points. Jaguar TCS Racing’s dominance continues, with the team extending their lead in the Teams’ standings by 66 points, having won three of the last four races.

Want the latest Electric vehicle news in your inbox? Sign up to the free EV Powered email newsletter...