Formula ENews

Formula E reveals provisional race calendar for season eight

The FIA has published the provisional race calendar for the 2021/2022 season of Formula E featuring three new locations.

The record 16- race calendar is the series’ most expansive yet, spanning 12 cities across four continents. The season begins once again in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia, following a successful opener this year. The Formula E grid will then head to Mexico City before visiting the first of three new cities with South Africa’s Cape Town – returning single-seater FIA World Championship racing to the country for the first time since the 1993 South African Grand Prix.

China then makes a welcome return to the Formula E calendar in March 2022 before events in Rome and Monaco, with the race in the Principality moving from a biannual to an annual event following May’s successful E-Prix and the accommodation of the Automobile Club de Monaco.

Formual E season 8 calendar

Berlin, the only city to have featured in every season, takes its familiar place on the calendar in May followed shortly after by the second new venue with Vancouver.

Racing then heads to The Big Apple for a series of double headers beginning with the New York City E-Prix, before two races at London’s ExCeL and a double-header season-finale in Seoul utilising a circuit incorporating the Olympic Stadium.

After two consecutive years of absence due to the global pandemic, Formula E plans a return of the Parisian race in 2023 for the arrival of Formula E’s Gen3 cars. The Paris E-Prix will move to a biannual event format, adapted to provide a new balance for the championship’s calendar. Each year of racing will see Paris welcome the Allianz E-Village, the electric mobility celebration and laboratory of innovative ideas promoting clean mobilities.

Want the latest Electric vehicle news in your inbox? Sign up to the free EV Powered email newsletter...