Extreme E

ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team Claims First Victory of Season 4 in Desert X Prix Round 2

Fraser McConnell and Laia Sanz delivered a stellar performance, clinching victory for ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team (ASXE) in Round 2 of the Desert X Prix.

The duo showcased exceptional skill and determination, fending off strong competition from Andretti Altawkilat’s Timmy Hansen and Catie Munnings, who staged an impressive comeback.

E.ON Veloce Racing secured their second consecutive podium finish, with Rosberg X Racing (RXR) rounding out the order in the Grand Final of Round 2.

This victory propels ASXE to second place in the championship standings, trailing RXR by just two points, with E.ON Veloce Racing securing the third position.

Fraser McConnell expressed his elation for the team, emphasizing the significance of the win and the confidence it instilled in him. Laia Sanz echoed his sentiments, highlighting the team’s collective effort and determination to succeed.

The start proved crucial in the Grand Final, with McConnell seizing the lead early on and maintaining it throughout the race. Despite relentless pressure from their rivals, ASXE held firm, ultimately securing their first win of Season 4.

Timmy Hansen of Andretti Altawkilat Extreme E acknowledged the tough battle on the track, saying: “It was a tough battle, especially off the start. My plan was not to do what I did, but I managed to get a launch which was better than expected and I did not see any one. But then Fraser [McConnell] got past me and I had to make sure I kept second position.

Kevin Hansen of E.ON Veloce Racing commended the team’s impeccable performance, saying: “The team put together an amazing car for us. There wasn’t a single problem all weekend, so it was up to us out there to make the most of it. A special shout out to the guys in the Vodafone Business Command Centre as they did a fantastic job coaching us through the races. At the end of the day, we’re super happy with a double podium to start off the season and we’re up there in the title fight for sure.”

With thrilling races and intense competition, Season 4 of Extreme E promises to be an exhilarating journey for fans and teams alike. As the championship unfolds, the battle for supremacy heats up, setting the stage for more exciting races to come.

Grand Final result

1. ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team 10:54.593mins
2. Andretti Altawkilat Extreme E +1.406s
3. E.ON Veloce Racing +4.662
4. Rosberg X Racing +8.051

Redemption Race result

1. NEOM McLaren Extreme E Team 8:32.825mins
3. SUN Minimeal Team +9.809s

Championship standings

1. Rosberg X Racing 41 points
2. ACCIONA | SAINZ XE Team 39 points
3. E.ON Veloce Racing 33 points
4. Andretti Altawkilat Extreme E 31 points
5. NEOM McLaren Extreme E Team 30 points
7. SUN Minimeal Team 10 points
8. JBXE 10 points

Want the latest Electric vehicle news in your inbox? Sign up to the free EV Powered email newsletter...